The  Presidential Commission on Restructuring and Rationalisation of the Federal Government Parastatals, Commissions and Agencies under the leadership of Stephen Oronsaye was set up in 2011 by then President Goodluck Ebele Jonathan

The Report of the committee became famous as the Steve Orosanye Report.  Most of the reports’ content was rejected by the government that set it up. But President Bola Ahmed Tinubu who is currently facing pressure over high cost of living, has announced plans to fully implement the Report.

Here are key highlights of the recommendations in the Report

1)  38 Federal Agencies to be abolished, including Public Complaints Commission, National Poverty Eradication Programme, Utilities Charges Commission, National Agency for the Control of HIV/AIDS, National Intelligence Committee etc.

2)  14 agencies to be fused into ministries where they were created from, that Debt Management Office to return back to the Federal Ministry of Finance

3) Public Health Department back to the Federal Ministry of Health

4) National Information Technology Development Agency to be fused into the Ministry Communication Technology

5)  Reduction of statutory agencies from 263 to 161

6) 52 institutions to be merged. For example, NTA, FRCN & VON top be merged into the Federal Broadcasting Corporation of Nigeria (FBCN)

7) NCC & NBC to be merged into Communication Regulatory Authority of Nigeria (CRAN)

8) CCB , EFCC & ICPC to be merged into the Anti Corruption Commission.

9)  Federal Road Safety Commission (FRSC) will become a department in the Nigeria Police Force.

10) The Universal Basic Education Commission, Nomadic Education Commission, and National Mass Literacy Commission are performing overlapping functions and should be brought under one body.